Google announced they are rolling out a new feature within the Google Maps navigation bar on both the desktop and mobile versions that lets users see a timeline of where they’ve traveled over a specific time period.
Google said they are introducing “a useful way to remember and view the places you’ve been on a given day, month or year.” Here is a picture of where you would see by clicking the timeline button within Google Maps:
Here is how it looks when you click the timeline button:
The timeline is not something you can currently share with friends; it is only visible to you. You can also delete places you’ve been. This is actually very similar to the location history feature in your account, but it’s much more user-friendly.
Back in 2009, Google had a feature called Google Latitude that allowed you to share your location history with your friends; but they ultimately closed it down.
The post Google Maps Timeline: User-Friendly Location History appeared first on Search Engine Land.